St. Louis Blues celebrations, Stanley Cup 2019 (photo: Fred Ortlip/Flickr, CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)

Event timeline

Untill now acquire : 1 user
Last acquire: 5 years before
Active from: 06/11/2019

Display timeline

Knowledge quiz

Quizzes run: 4031x
Best run: 63 % (anonym)

Run quiz Print quiz

Share & cooperate

Social media sites:

Output formats

Board game


Stanley Cup
holders of the most important hockey trophies

The tradition of fighting for a prestigious hockey trophy dates back to more than 100 years ago. The original Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup was given by Governor General of Canada Lord Frederick Arthur Stanley in 1892.
At first, amateur hockey players have been competing for the cup, since 1909 compete the professional teams. The NHL organisation took over the Cup under its administration in 1926.
After filling the original trophy with the names of the winners engraved, the rings with rosters of hockey players, coaches and managers was added. The Stanley Cup currently weighs over 15 kilograms (34.5 lb). 
The first Stanley Cup holders were teams with the most points in the season. Since 1915 are play-off battles taking place.
In this era, the Montreal Canadiens are the most successful team to win a total of 24 times. But since their last success, they have been waiting for the Cup over a quarter of a century.
Very successful were also the Toronto Maple Leafs with 13 win of the Stanley Cup. However, the Canadian team achieved the last success more than 50 years ago.
The best team of recent years are the Pittsburgh Penguins, who have won the Stanley Cup four times since 2008. Since 2019, the newcomer to the SC winners is the St. Louis Blues team.
The Timixi timeline brings an interesting insight into existing Stanley Cup holders. First, it shows the year of the first win of the Cup by the team. In the case of multiple holders, it maps the range from the first victory to the last hockey title.


Timeline span: 1916 - 2021

Events: 20 (4 with priority)

Timeline with calendar dates: 1 sets of values

One-time & time-span events (14 time-span events )

Linear time-scale

Author : Timixi (editors)


Special offer: Free timeline


CZ Stanley Cup

EN Stanley Cup


Sports   Hockey   Contemporary history  

team   hockey   title   NHL   cup   Stanley Cup   playoff   winner  



Stanley Cup Champions and Finalists -
Stanley Cup -
List of Stanley Cup champions -
Past NHL Stanley Cup Winners -
Stanley Cup parade, St. Louis, photo Fred Ortlip -
Stanley Cup Final 2015, Tampa Bay, photo Ant. Ciardiello -
NHL Stanley Cup Winners -

ver 1.7.6 en